Sunsets in Stuttgart

Photography. I think the first time that I really knew I wanted to be a photographer was when I was a little girl. I was sitting on my grandfather’s lap and he was showing me a photo album and telling me about where he had taken this picture and that one. I remember being bored, a little. But, I liked snuggling with him. Smelling his cologne. Watching his big, old, wrinkled hands turn the pages. The sound of his gravely voice. I miss him.

Perhaps it was those pictures, the ones that captured me, took me away. The ones that made me put my small soft hand over his rough one. A simple gesture to convey much more. Not yet, grandpa. I want to look at this one longer. Or perhaps it was because of how I miss him so dearly, to try and sneak up on the horizon and feel closeness to him through imitating his talent, his gift.

Signing up for the photography class was thus inspired. My passion I intended to pursue. To follow in his footsteps.

It was that class that drew me to another. The boy. Too handsome, I thought. I believe he spoke to me first, though he says the opposite. No one is counting. Of course, we discussed photography, but our mutual interest kindled a mutual interest in one another. Available no longer.

The sun is setting in Stuttgart again. I am happy. We watch the city from a hilltop covered in wildflowers. We are in love. Take another photo, time captured for our shared album.

Copyright © 2014  Eric A. Schweitz

Photo linked via Writing My Legacy. Copyright Rona Keller.

6 thoughts on “Sunsets in Stuttgart

  1. ‘though it doesn’t matter now, does it?’
    This sentence makes me sad. The passing of time makes me sad. The loss of previously significant things makes me sad. Good-bye’s make me sad. Moving on makes me sad. Old things not mattering anymore make me sad.
    I wish I could explain what this sentence has made me feel, but I fear I may not be able to convey perfectly my emotions.
    Really enjoyed the story.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      The line you quoted was intended to convey that who spoke to whom first between the two young lovers was less relevant than that the discussion got started, one passion kick-started another, etc. In short: take a chance. 🙂

      1. No, I understood well the context it was spoken in.
        I just wanted to comment on the way I felt when I read the sentence isolated from the story. I have some across this sentence so very often, in books and movies, and it always makes me feel the same way. I recently read ‘Never Let Me Go’ by Kazuo Ishiguro and hence I am a little emotional. That novel has this sentence and the feeling it personifies in abundance.

      2. Ah, I see. Thanks for explaining a bit more and sharing your thoughts and feelings. I greatly appreciate the feedback.

  2. I enjoyed your story. I thought the phrase mentioned (good comments by the way), showed a carefree attitude. Those words can strike a chord when we’re reminded how there’s an abundance of insensitivity nowadays.

Leave a comment