Tart

“Hiya, Mike. Feeling better?” my boss asked.

“Yes, I am.” And I did feel better.

The boss led the way into the back of the bakery.

“Try one of these new pastries,” said the boss, handing me one.

I took it and, without a second thought, took a bite. It tasted like a caramelized pepperoni pickle. I coughed. Tears came to my eyes. “What the?”

The boss tilted his head to the side, studying me. “Hmm.” He chewed his lip. “No good?”

“It’s … terrible! Hideous.”

The boss shrugged. “I hired a golf pro to fill in while you were away.”


Picture is by Will. (100 words)

Leave a Reply

