Not Quite Almost

I watch Walt and that other guy from work. What’s his name? Kevin? Kyle? Kurt, I think.

Walt and I were going out shopping. Maybe a movie. But when we walked out the front door, Kurt happened. That was twenty minutes ago.

Walt looks at me. I sit on the stoop and smile. Let’s go! echoes in my head.

He keeps talking to Kurt. They laugh about work.

Work! Can you believe it? It’s Saturday.

I wonder what Kurt’s deal is. Doesn’t he have a life?

“… right, Loren?” They have an identical smile.

I shake me head. “I’m calling Sasha.”


Photo is copyright by Thang Le. cc 2.0

(100 words)

Leave a Reply

