Graceful

She knew.

All the scurrying about. Mom checking lists. Her voice, my name echoing through the farmhouse. Me in my room, packing clothes and essentials. Me standing next to the station wagon, tucking my hair behind my ear, analyzing the big box and small space.

Gracie followed me through it all. Her thoughts buried behind loving brown eyes. Her feelings obvious from her proximity, sighs and occasional whimpers.

I sat on the box. Gracie’s head wriggled under my palm.

“You can’t go this time, Gracie. I’m going away to college for a while.” I blinked back tears. “Denton isn’t far.”


Photo is copyright by Lauren Rushing.

(100 words)

Leave a Reply

