Listening to the Night

Summer days on the ranch bristle in heat and stretch long. The work never ends and that suits me perfectly fine. Every herd has its outliers, the stragglers and the jet-setters. With them, I am intimately acquainted. I study their approach to the game. Like a chess-player I must plan my countermoves.

In the twilight, the sheep grow lethargic. I listen to their whispered conversations and sit next to cowboy. Crickets chirp on the hillside. I remain vigilant. Cowboy smells of fire and smoke. He scratches my head behind the ears. I lick his hand. We are more than brothers.


Picture is copyright by ArTeTeTra.

Daily Post prompt.

Leave a Reply

