Borrowed

Yvette arrived at the sidewalk cafe before Florian. She’d been wondering how to tell him that she wanted out.

Yvette sat down. Afternoon sun warmed her. She absentmindedly twisted the diamond ring.

Florian walked up behind her.“I’m so sorry, my love. I had to see you, and … I, well, it’s—”

“No, I should apologize.” Yvette stood, holding out the diamond. She felt like throwing up. “I’m sorry, Florian. I just can’t go through with this.”

Florian waved his hand. “Keep it.”

Her mouth hung open. “Did you hear what I said?”

“I’m dying, Yvette. It’s all been borrowed time.”


Photo is copyright by Hope Abrams.

Daily Post prompt. (100 words)

Leave a Reply

