Walking William

William was wise and kind. “I love it here. I don’t ever want to leave.” The wet sand oozed like syrup under our feet.

“I love it too.”

The three-year-old weaved along. “Do you believe in God?”

His question took me off-guard. “What?”

“The waves.”

I shrugged, puzzled.

“I think the waves are the breath of God.”

Stunned, I lurched to a halt. William swam unfathomable depths. Where he led, my heart longed to follow.

Over the surf, I heard Dot call.

“Time to go, son.”

William saw his caseworker on the deck. “I don’t like her.”

Heartbroken, I nodded.


Picture is copyright by sethoscope.

Daily Post prompt. (100 words)

Leave a Reply

