Colorful

Sally worked herself up. “Why would anybody want to go there?”

I shrugged.

“Rocks and dirt. Bugs and maybe a lizard. It’s hot!” Her face was puckered up like she’d bitten a sour lemon. “Yuck!

What could anyone say to such an onslaught? “No worries. I was just asking.”

“Well, ask someone else. I’m never going to the desert. Not in a million years.” She stormed out. The screen door slammed and rattled in the frame after she passed.

I shook my head and returned to packing my camera equipment. Spring in the desert. A colorful carpet of wildflowers awaited.


Photo is copyright by Rennett Stowe.

Daily Post prompt.

2 thoughts on “Colorful

Leave a Reply

