Christmas with Stacy

I wouldn’t say Stacy and I have no traditions. Our traditions are the unusual. Modern gypsies. The world our backdrop for adventure.

“Do you think Santa will find us?” I ask.

“He always does, Poppa.” She burrows her curls into my shoulder. We laugh.

My daughter dances through surf on Christmas Eve.

I’d asked about snow and snowmen.

Sun and sand, she’d replied. We visit salty seas of South Africa at sunset. Santa sent word of a safari tomorrow. I am content.

“Look, Poppa! A sand dollar!”

I smile, blinking away worries, my sweet girl’s future. My cancer has returned.


 

Photo is copyright by Steve Adams

 

Leave a Reply

