Moon Over Wanda

Each end is a new beginning, they say. Though, I failed to see the comfort of it at the moment.

It had been my last day on the job. In truth, I had been looking forward to leaving for several months. It wasn’t my dream job. Nor was it a bad job. Not really. Just what I did to earn a living.

But, that last day, the day I cleaned out my desk, put my stuff in an old cardboard box, it all just sort of got to me. No more bad coffee out of the ridiculous coffee machine. No more sitting through the latest episode of co-worker Tilly’s blow-out-the-windows drama. Heck, no more boss blaming me for what went wrong and getting promoted when I did something right.

I parked the car and strolled down the beach. You’d think I’d know better than to go on a walkabout in the rain at my age.

I tried to focus on what I wanted to do when I grew up. Ha! Do we ever really grow up? I got more years in the rearview than I see ahead now.

The wind picked up sending stinging sand over the dunes. Sending the dark clouds out to sea. The rain stopped. A super moon hung above me in the sky. The setting sun set the retreating clouds’ tails afire. I pushed back the hood of my raincoat. I wanted to take it all in.

It was there that I found tranquility after the storm.

I don’t know what will happen next. None of us do.

Though, peace is knowing that I can take my blessings in the tiniest of nibbles.

Copyright © 2014  Eric Schweitz

Photo is linked via The Heart of Writing

Leave a Reply

