Late Night Cards

“How about another shot of whiskey?”

“Sure. I don’t have to be in until one tomorrow.”

“I got tomorrow off.”

“Don’t even start with me. You know I hate working Saturdays.”

“Yeah, don’t I.”

There was a lull in the conversation as he dealt the next hand.

“Did I mention that I have tomorrow off?”

“You’re a jerk. You know that?”

First, one laughs. Then both.

“This one for all the marbles, then?”

“Sure.” They picked up their cards. Studied their opponent.

Damn, they thought simultaneously.

Sister measured brother. Brother tried to read sister’s mind. More cards were taken. Bets placed.

“Raise you five.”

“Uh-huh. I’ll see that.”

“Read ’em and weep, sucka!”

Palm meets forehead.

“Your turn to take out the trash.” More laughter.

“I still don’t need to go to work tomorrow.” More shots were poured.

“Oh, yes, it’s garbage night.”

Picture linked via The Heart of Writing. Copyright Carrie Mae Weems.

Leave a Reply

