One Day at the Park Bench

Doris:
I’m so glad summer has arrived. My grandson seems to be having so much fun running around with the other children and playing on the playground. I wish this bench was a little more comfortable though. I bet a ridiculous old man that never sat on a bench designed it. The angles are all wrong. I can’t believe it is almost Robert’s birthday. Time goes by so fast. I hope Susie will actually put this on him. I hate to think I knitted this sweater for nothing.

Take a look at that. Young love coming down the path. But, my isn’t she dressed like a Jezebel. Look at that outfit! Well, I best not stare, I suppose. But, oh my! She could probably be such a pretty girl too.

Well, done with that row. Oh, he’s crying now. Maybe she just broke his heart. So sad. He seems like a nice young man. I’m sure he’ll find himself a nice girl.

He’s hopping this way. She must have kicked him in the shin too.

Anna:
I have so much to do. The wedding is only five weeks away. We’ll never pull this off. I have to go to the bakery in two hours. And, what about Uncle George? Maybe he won’t come. But what if he does? I’ll have to ask mom. Isn’t James looking so cute today? I can’t believe it. I’m such a lucky girl. How many guys would walk a girl home from the gym on such a beautiful day? What am I babbling about again?

I catch myself saying breathlessly, “… and so we decided on this lovely pattern for the day china and I’m sure you are just going to love it. It goes so well with the flatware.”

“Ah.”

“You really do like that, don’t you? You said you did. But you don’t really?”

“No, no. I like them. Really…”

“Look at that little old lady knitting the sweater. How cute!” I can’t wait to have a baby with James. I wonder if it will look like him or me. I hope it looks like him.

“Oww!”

Wait, my James is crying! What is going on? He’s going to break up with me. He’s seen me all sweaty in my exercise outfit and decided he can’t marry me. Wait. Is he hurt? “James, what’s wrong?!? We can select some other flatware.”

“What? No, no. Anna, I’m such a klutz. Oooh.”

James:
I wonder if the baseball game is on TV tonight. Should be a good game against the Braves. I’ll have to check.

I like this walking through the park with Anna. She’s so beautiful, she takes my breath away. I need to check on that order when I get back to the office though. The boss seemed pretty animated this morning. But, he can’t be too mad if I spend my lunch with my fiancée, can he? Look at all those screaming little squirts on the jungle gym. That kid over there looks like a Waldo.

She’s saying, “… and so we decided on this lovely pattern for the day china and I’m sure you are just going to love it. It goes so well with the flatware.”

What is she talking about? Dishes? I manage an, “Ah.”

“You really do like that, don’t you? You said you did. But you don’t really?” she asks, suddenly unsure.

It sounds like dishes. “No, no. I like them. Really…”

But she’s already switched topics again. “Look at that little old lady knitting the sweater. How cute!”

“Oww!” Damn, I think I just broke my ankle stepping off the side of the sidewalk.

“James, what’s wrong?!? We can select some other flatware.”

“What? No, no. Anna, I’m such a klutz. Oooh.” I can’t believe this. Of all the dumb things.

“I just twisted my ankle, Anna. Help me over to that bench would you?” Maybe it’s not broke. Man, that hurts bad.

The Bench:
Just sitting here trying to catch a few rays, minding my own business, trying to catch up with the maple tree and the garbage can. And another old lady decides to plop down. Right on me. Again. Why not go sit on Woody over there? Nobody ever sits on Woody.

And now what? Some joker hopping down the trail like he’s the Easter Bunny. And he’s going to sit on me too. Why do I have to be the most popular bench in the busiest park in the city? Hey, now! Who’s this nice girl wearing the lycra? Look people, a bench can’t ogle properly if you’re going to insist on obstructing the views.

Hey! Hey! Dang it. Why can’t a good park bench like me ever catch a break?

Writing 101

2 thoughts on “One Day at the Park Bench

Leave a Reply

