At the Fence

Photo prompt

This prompt is from Friday Fictioneers.

 ⇔

October mornings in western Washington are foggy, wet affairs. Today was no different as I pulled on my boots and rain gear and took Bella, my loyal black lab, for our morning walk. Low clouds oozed over the wetlands. I let Bella decide our path, as I usually do. She headed down the hill, barking, tail beating furiously, enthusiasm uncontained and on display to anyone truly listening. I followed her down to the fence. Stopping, I soaked up the beauty. The fence. A simple man-made barrier, easily overcome. A metaphor. Obstacles of the mind to cross, relationships to be mended.

(100 words)

One thought on “At the Fence

Leave a Reply

